Being in on the Secret

I love my job.

I love taking pictures, but luckily my job is more than that. It’s relationships, it’s people and capturing a portion of their life.

What I find really cool about it, is that often times I am brought into an intimate part of my clients’ lives. And more specifically, I am one of the firsts to be a part of that experience and I get to capture it!

Weddings clearly come to mind, whether it’s a father seeing his daughter for the first time in her wedding dress, or the couple praying together before the ceremony, or even the first one to high-five the bride and groom after they walk back up the aisle!

Sean and Caroline pray together before their wedding ceremony.

Sean and Caroline pray together before their wedding ceremony.

Recently I had the opportunity to photograph a proposal (another post to come on that soon) and was one of three people to know about it! Not only that, but once he had proposed and pointed me out to his fiancée, I was the first one to congratulate them and give them a HUGE hug.

Jordan proposes to Kristen in downtown Raleigh and reveals where I am.

Jordan proposes to Kristen in downtown Raleigh and reveals where I am.

Not to say this is a power complex or makes me cool because I know something you don’t, but rather it’s incredibly humbling and makes it that much more of an honor to serve my clients in such an intimate way.

There’s something about that moment, once the surprise is revealed, that connects all the people present. And there I am, jumping in to capture it, and very much connected to the group because of your invitation.

So thank you in advance, to all those future friends who will be inviting me in to capture the surprises in their lives and all those involved.

Thanks for letting me in on the secret!

One thought on “Being in on the Secret

Leave a Reply

