Stepping Out

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve waited long enough.  For a time I tried to look for “safe” jobs. Things that made a good consistent paycheck. And even once I realized that’s not where I’m called to be, I dragged my feet to execute God’s vision for me.

Fear.

Self-doubt.

“No one does that.”

“Cool, how are you going to get there?”

“How much does that pay?”

“Are you sure you need to leave Raleigh?”

All of these are reasons for me to stall out. They have caused me to drag my feet for the last three weeks despite the incredibly clear vision God has given me about what I am to do next:

My vision is to travel the world, telling the story of people from all walks of life, cultures, countries and religions through photography, sending a message of inspiration and hope to the world that you do not stand alone. To remind each other that we are all human and we have a lot more in common than we perceive. 

The list of contacts suggested to me that I still have yet to act on is long. A lot of this inaction comes from knowing that if I start telling people about my vision, I’m going to be held responsible for it. I’m going to have to act on it. It will start becoming true.

So if that’s the case, what’s holding me back? Why wouldn’t I want my dream to come true? This thing that is at the heart of who I am and who God has called me to be.

“I will hasten and not delay to obey your commands.” Psalm 116:60

Seeing this scripture this morning, I felt convicted. Called out in a way that no close friend could call me out.

So here I am. I’m publicly presenting to you my vision of where God is calling me and what I’m doing next with my life.

Other things I know: I need to move West. I long for the wilderness and the mountains. I need to live in a big city with a river running through it. Colorado, Washington, Utah, Wyoming.

I lay this out there to be held accountable. To step into my discomfort.

I thank you all for reading this and for all of you who have helped me get to this place of clarity. Thank you for your prayers, support, and encouragement.

I ask you for more of the same. My next step is to network into organizations and companies that have the need for strong visual storytelling. From missions organizations to non-profits to National Geographic. Anyone know Bear Grylls?

I’m done restricting my dreams. That’s not what God has for me or for you. We are called to dream bigger, because God will dream bigger still than that. But we first have to believe it’s possible.

Even writing this is difficult. But I’m going to take the day moment by moment, email by email to work towards where God is calling me.

My friend Melanie Spring recently reminded me of a great quote that will be echoing in my head daily:

“Pray as if everything depends on God. Work as if everything depends on you.”

I’ve waited long enough. May the hustle begin.

Love y’all.

Stuart

(About the photo at the top: this was taken during my first summer as a backpacking and white water rafting guide in Colorado in 2009 and I choose it today to signify my commitment to moving west to the mountains.)

3 thoughts on “Stepping Out

  1. DO THE THING, Stu! You have such a passion for this AND you want it more than most – so go do it. Get off the couch, move your butt, and make this happen. I’m SO proud of you for putting it out there.

Leave a Reply

